Release: 13-04-2019 | Label: BRISTOL ARCHIVE / Sonic Rendezvous

Blauw vinyl

2 x LP

Limited edition of 500 copies on blue vinyl. During the 1990s, ‘The Bristol Sound’ became a global phenomenon with albums from Massive Attack, Portishead and Tricky regularly placed high in polls of the best albums of the decade or indeed of all time. But for those in the know, ‘The Bristol Sound’ had been defined at the tail end of the eighties with a string of releases from the studio of Rob Smith and Ray Mighty. It’s never too late to put the record straight and Bristol Archive Record’s 2012 compilation ‘The Three Stripe Collection 1985-1990’ did just that. The 17 tracks were personally selected and compiled by Rob Smith and start with ‘Walk On’ and ‘Anyone’ the two songs that announced the arrival of Smith & Mighty and heralded the coming of ‘The Bristol Sound’. They took musical ingredients from reggae, funk, hip hop, pop, house, soul and anywhere else that inspired them, added a huge amount of talent, skill, originality, a large portion of the Bristol vibe, some primitive digital technology and turned out cutting edge, boundary crossing dance music the likes of which had never been heard before.

Terug naar boven

Schrijf je in voor de nieuwsbrief

Schrijf je in voor onze nieuwsbrief en ontvang belangrijke RSD updates direct in je mailbox!