John Mayer

Sob Rock

Van 1 naar 1 | 2 weken | Release: 16-07-2021 | Label: Columbia / Bertus

Indie Only Clear Mint Vinyl

Sob Rock is the eighth full length studio album from John Mayer. Sob Rock is produced by John Mayer and Don Was, and most of the album was recorded during the global pandemic of 2020- 2021. The album was launched with the single and video, “Last Train Home.”

John Mayer emerged in 2001 with his debut album, Room For Squares. He has sold over 20 million albums worldwide, including three # 1 debuts on the Billboard Top 200 with the triple platinum Heavier Things in 2003, the double platinum Battle Studies in 2009, and the gold certified Born and Raised in 2012. His 2017 album, The Search For Everything, debuted at # 2 on the Billboard Top 200, and has also been certified gold. Additionally, he has earned 7 Grammy® Awards.

Op vrijdag 16 juli verschijnt het achtste studioalbum Sob Rock van John Mayer. Eind maart speelde John op TikTok al een paar maten van Last Train Home , wat hem bijna anderhalf views opleverde. Daarna verschenen plotseling Sob Rock-advertenties in de metro van New York en LA en op billboards over de hele wereld, wat zijn fans in alle staten bracht. Sob Rock is John Mayers eerste soloproject in vier jaar, nadat hij in 2017 The Search For Everything uitbracht.

Het 80’s soft-rockalbum Sob Rock is bedoeld als troost, vertelde John aan Wall Street Journal. “I asked myself, ‘What music makes me feel like everything’s going to be OK?’ And it’s the music I listened to growing up in the ’80s. There’s a security-blanket aspect about that sound that reminds me of a safer time.”

Op zowel de track als in de video van Last Train Home maakt ook singer-songwriter Maren Morris kort haar opwachting. Daarnaast zijn percussionist Lenny Castro (Toto) en keyboardist Greg Phillinganes (Stevie Wonder, Eric Clapton, Michael Jackson, Toto) te horen op de track. Onlangs speelde  John Mayer Last Train Home voor het eerst live bij Jimmy Kimmel Live!.


1.       Last Train Home

2.       Shouldn’t Matter but It Does

3.       New Light

4.       Why You No Love Me

5.       Wild Blue

6.       Shot in the Dark

7.       I Guess I Just Feel Like

8.       Til the Right One Comes

9.       Carry Me Away

10.   All I Want Is to Be With You

Terug naar boven