Sonny Rollins

Rollins In Holland

Release: 27-11-2020 | Label: Resonance Records / PIAS

Rollins in Holland: The 1967 Studio & Live Recordings is Resonance Records’ first archival release from the Saxophone Colossus himself, Sonny Rollins. Released in partnership with the Nederlands Jazz Archief, this deluxe 2CD and limited-edition 180g 3LP set is officially sanctioned by Rollins and is comprised of 3 different previously-unissued performances with bassist Ruud Jacobs and drummer Han Bennink in May of 1967 at Vara Studio in Hilversum, the Arnhem Academy of Visual Arts in Arnhem, and a televised performance at the Go-Go Club in Loosdrecht. Rollins in Holland will include an extensive booklet with never-before-published photos from each venue; essays by Aidan Levy (currently writing a biography of Sonny Rollins for Da Capo Press) and Dutch jazz journalist/producer Frank Jochemsen; plus interviews with Sonny Rollins, Han Bennink, a remembrance of Ruud Jacobs, and more.


Disc One:
Recorded at VARA Studio 5, Hilversum, The Netherlands on
May 5, 1967

1. Blue Room (4:49)
2. Four (5:14)
3. Love Walked In (6:04)
4. Tune Up (6:57) (Recorded live at the Go-Go club, Loosdrecht, The Netherlands on May 5, 1967)
5. Sonnymoon for Two (8:13)
6. Love Walked In (9:31) (Recorded live at Academie voor Beeldende Kunst, Arnhem,
The Netherlands on May 3, 1967)
7. Three Little Words (22:25)

Disc Two:
Recorded live at Academie voor Beeldende Kunst, Arnhem,
The Netherlands on May 3, 1967
1. They Can’t Take That Away From Me/Sonnymoon for Two
2. On Green Dolphin Street/There Will Never Be Another You
3. Love Walked In (19:58)

Terug naar boven

Schrijf je in voor de nieuwsbrief

Schrijf je in voor onze nieuwsbrief en blijf up-to-date met de nieuwste artikelen, de laatste releases en nog veel meer!