Johnny Griffin / Eddie 'Lockjaw' Davis Quintet

Ow! Live at The Penthouse

Release: 29-11-2019 | Label: Reel To Real Recordings Ltd.

Previously Unissued! Johnny Griiffin & Eddie “Lockjaw” Davis featuring Horace Parlan, Buddy Catlett and Art Taylor. Official release of the previously unissued live recordings of the Johnny Griffin-Eddie “Lockjaw” Davis Quintet from 1962. Released in partnership with the estates of Johnny Griffin and Eddie “Lockjaw” Davis. Deluxe limited-edition 180 gm LP, mastered by Bernie Grundman Mastering. Remastered audio transferred directly from the original 350 10” tapes at 7 ½ IPS. Includes extensive booklet with rare photos; essays by journalist Ted Panken, pianist Michael Weiss, co-producer Zev Feldman and Corry Weeds; plus interviews with drum icon Kenny Washington, saxophone colossus James Carter and more!

1. Intermission Riff – Introduction by Jim Wilke (R. Wetzel) 0:53
2. Blues Up and Down 6:48 (G. Ammons/S. Stitt)
3. Ow! (Dizzy Gillespie) 8:29
4. Bahia 8:46 (A. Barroso)
5. Blue Lou 4:15 (E. Sampson/I. Mills)
6. Intermission Riff – Outro by Jim Wilke (R. Wetzel) 1:02
7. Intermission Riff – Introduction by Jim Wilke (R. Wetzel) 0:30
8. Second Balcony Jump 7:22 (B. Eckstine/G. Valentine)
9. How Am I To Know? 10:28 (J. King)
10. Sophisticated Lady 4:04 (D.Ellington)
11. Tickle Toe 6:37 (Lester Young)
12. Intermission Riff – Outro by Jim Wilke (R. Wetzel) 1:18

Tracks 1 – 6 recorded May 30, 1962
Tracks 7 – 12 recorded June 6, 1962
Recorded live at The Penthouse in Seattle, Washington

Produced for release by ZEV FELDMAN and CORY WEEDS
Executive Producer: CORY WEEDS
Associate Producers: JIM WILKE and CHARLIE PUZZO JR.
Sound restoration by CHRIS GESTRIN
LP mastering by BERNIE GRUNDMAN at Bernie Grundman Mastering, Hollywood, California
Original Recordings by FRED STIMSON

Terug naar boven

Schrijf je in voor de nieuwsbrief

Schrijf je in voor onze nieuwsbrief en ontvang belangrijke RSD updates direct in je mailbox!