The New Basement Tapes

Lost On The River

Release: 16-01-2015 | Label: Capitol

Lost on the River: The New Basement Tapes is an album produced by T Bone Burnett featuring a collective of musicians recording under the moniker The New Basement Tapes—Elvis Costello, Rhiannon Giddens, Taylor Goldsmith, Jim James and Marcus Mumford. The album consists of a series of tracks based on recently uncovered lyrics handwritten by Bob Dylan in 1967. Probably written in the period between his motorcycle accident (July 29, 1966) and the first recordings in the spring of 1967 in the “Red Room” in Dylan’s house, where the first recordings of The Basement Tapes took place.

Early May 1967 Dylan told reporter Michael Iachetta: “Songs are in my head like they always are, but they are not going to get written down until some people come forth and make up for some of the things that had happened”, probably referring to his conflict with his manager Albert Grossman. During the period in which he started recording with the Hawks, Dylan changed his writing habits and wrote his text directly on a typewriter. The album was released November 11, 2014.


Officiële website:

Terug naar boven

Schrijf je in voor de nieuwsbrief

Schrijf je in voor onze nieuwsbrief en ontvang belangrijke RSD updates direct in je mailbox!