MARINA and the Diamonds

Electra Heart: Platinum Blonde (10th Anniversary Edition)

Release: 23-09-2022 | Label: East West Records UK Ltd / Warner

Indie Only Magenta Vinyl

Originally released by Atlantic Records, ELECTRA HEART is a concept album about lost love and female identity. For the album, Marina created a fictitious character named Electra Heart to explore four female archetypes in American pop culture – housewife, beauty queen, homewrecker, and idle teen.

Musically, the electronic dance-pop style of ELECTRA HEART represented a departure from Marina’s debut album, 2010’s The Family Jewels, which featured a new wave sound. The new direction resonated in Europe as well as the U.S., where the album produced two platinum-certified singles – “Primadonna” and “How To Be A Heartbreaker” – and two gold-certified singles – “Teen Idle” and “Bubblegum Bitch.” The latter – which was never officially released as a single – became an unexpected hit in 2021 thanks to the song’s popularity on TikTok with over 3M unique videos created.

ELECTRA HEART: PLATINUM BLONDE EDITION includes all 12 songs from the original release. They’re joined by four additional tracks that came out after the original album. Those bonus songs include the international hit “How To Be A Heartbreaker,” “Lonely Hearts Club” from the Deluxe Edition of the album; “E.V.O.L” a free download released on Valentine’s Day 2013; and “Electra Heart,” a collaboration with American DJ Betatraxx that was featured in a music video on Marina’s YouTube channel.


Side A

  1. “Bubblegum Bitch”
  2. “Primadonna”
  3. “Lies”
  4. “Homewrecker”

Side B

  1. “Starring Role”
  2. “The State of Dreaming”
  3. “Power & Control”
  4. “Living Dead”

Side C

  1. “Teen Idle”
  2. “Valley of The Dolls”
  3. “Hypocrates”
  4. “Fear and Loathing”

Side D

  1. “How To Be A Heartbreaker”
  2. “Lonely Hearts Club”
  3. “E.V.O.L”
  4. “Electra Heart”
Terug naar boven

Schrijf je in voor de nieuwsbrief

Schrijf je in voor onze nieuwsbrief en blijf up-to-date met de nieuwste artikelen, de laatste releases en nog veel meer!