Bob Weir

Ace (50th Anniversary Edition)

Release: 27-01-2023 | Label: Rhino / Warner

Indie Only Translucent Red Vinyl / Rhino’s Start Your Ear Off Right 2023

When Bobby started working on Ace at Wally Heider’s Studio in San Francisco in early 1972, he wasn’t planning for the Grateful Dead to be his backing band. It just happened. “I pretty much knew in the back of my mind what would happen,” Weir told Crawdaddy a few months after the sessions. “I go and get the time booked and start putting the material together. Everybody gets wind of the fact I got the time booked and I may be going into the studio. So, one by one, they start coming around…”

It made sense, the band was already familiar with most of the music, having road-tested six of the album’s eight songs, including “Greatest Story Ever Told,” “Mexicali Blues,” and “Playing in the Band,” destined to become one of Weir’s signature tunes. Ace also marked the beginning of Weir’s long-running collaboration with lyricist John Perry Barlow and includes early standouts “Cassidy” and “Looks Like Rain.”


  1. Greatest Story Ever Told 3:42
  2. Black-Throated Wind 5:43
  3. Walk In The Sunshine 3:02
  4. Playing In The Band 7:38
  5. Looks Like Rain 6:10
  6. Mexicali Blues 3:24
  7. One More Saturday Night 4:25
  8. Cassidy 3:39
Terug naar boven

Schrijf je in voor de nieuwsbrief

Schrijf je in voor onze nieuwsbrief en blijf up-to-date met de nieuwste artikelen, de laatste releases en nog veel meer!